NC State
Small Fruits

Wine grape Training Calendar 2022:

  • Monday, Dec 20 2021, 11am EST (virtual): Pruning Basics (all grapes) with Marco Tessari
  • January through March (virtual): Three In-depth classes on grapevine pruning with international pruning specialist Marco Tessari. Free for Agents; Registration fee for grower participation. Dates tbd.
  • Friday, Jan 21, full-day (In person): Yadkin Valley Agent Training and Bunch Grape Pruning workshop (location tbd)
  • Thursday-Saturday, Jan 27-29, full-day (in person): NC Winegrowers Conference, Winston-Salem, NC
  • Friday, Mar 4, full-day (in person): Western NC Bunch Agent Training and Grape Pruning workshop (location tbd)
  • Friday, Mar 25, 3pm EST (virtual): Vineyard IPM and early disease control
  • Friday, Apr 29, 3pm EST (virtual): Shoot Thinning and Canopy Mangement
  • Friday, May 27, 3pm EST (virtual): Pierce’s Disease Workshop
  • Friday, July 29, 3pm EST (virtual): Harvest Workshop
  • Friday, Oct 28, 3pm EST (virtual): Starting a vineyard? Costs, site-selection and wine-grape cultivars in NC
  • Friday, Dec. 9, full day (in person): New Growers Workshop (location tbd)

 

Muscadine Training Calendar 2022:

  • Monday, Dec 20, 11am EST (virtual): Pruning Basics (all grapes) with Marco Tessari
  • Monday, Jan 17, 11am EST (virtual): Muscadine Pruning
  • Thursday, Jan 20, full-day (In person): Eastern NC Muscadine Agent Training and Pruning workshop (location tbd)
  • Thursday, Feb 17, full-day (in person): Western NC Muscadine Agent Training and Pruning workshop (location tbd)
  • Friday, Feb 25, half-day (in person): How to restore an overgrown muscadine vineyard (location tbd)
  • Friday-Sat, Mar 11-12, (in person): Muscadine Conference, Lumberton NC
  • Thursday, Mar 24, 11am EST (virtual): Muscadine Vine Training and early season IPM
  • Thursday, April 14, 11am EST (virtual): Muscadine Cultivars
  • Tuesday, May 3, full-day (in-person): Small Fruits Field Day at the research station in Castle Hayne
  • Thursday, May 26, 11am EST (virtual): Muscadine IPM, Fertility and Canopy Management
  • Thursday, July 28, 11am EST (virtual): Food Safety, Storage, muscadine harvest and Fruit Sampling (2 hr session)
  • Thursday, October 27, 11am (virtual): Basics of Winemaking
  • Thursday, November 10, 11am (virtual): Medical research and health benefits of muscadine grapes

 

Strawberry Training Calendar 2022:

  • Tuesday, Feb 22, 3pm EST (virtual): Frost Protection and Row Cover Use in Strawberry
  • Tuesday, Mar 22, 3pm EST(virtual): Fertility and IPM
  • Tuesday, April 12, full day (in person): Strawberry Training (ONLY EXTENSION AGENTS) including farm visit (location tbd)
  • Tuesday, May 3, full-day (in person): Small Fruits Field Day at the research station in Castle Hayne
  • April-May 2022: Cottle Farms Strawberry Field Day (date tbd)
  • Tuesday, July 26, 3pm EST (virtual): Annual Strawberry Variety Update
  • Tuesday, August 9, full-day (in person): Western Strawberry Pre-plant Meeting (location tbd)
  • Tuesday, August 16, half-day (in person): Eastern Strawberry Pre-plant Meeting (location tbd)
  • Tuesday, August 23, 3pm EST (virtual): Strawberry Pre-Plant Considerations
  • Tuesday, October 25, 3pm EST (virtual): Strawberry post-transplant management